Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just Ducky

Yoga this morning, then lunch, then out for a paddle.  Two days in a row in the kayak - yay!  I went to another local lake and had a really enjoyable time.  Even though most of the dragons are wrapping things up for the season, there were still enough of them around to give me something to point the lens at.  But it was these two immature wood ducks that stole the show for me.  I was drifting along slowly along the edge of the lily pads and was surprisingly close before I ever saw them.  I managed to get some shots off and then slowly move away without ever scaring them into flight which was nice.  Even in subadult plumage they are handsome creatures.  

Extra is a male Eastern Amberwing, our smallest local dragon.  Maybe I should have made him my main...

I listened to and read a lot of coverage on the life and death of Queen Elizabeth.  I had the realization today that she was Queen before I was even born - this is my first day in a world without Queen Elizabeth.  I also listened to bits of Charles' speech.  I think he has a tough road ahead of him - it would be incredibly difficult for anyone attempting to fill the shoes of Her Majesty.  He will do things his own way, hopefully.  Anyway, I had two female Monarch butterflies emerge today so I released one in her memory.  I released a male in Prince Phillip's memory yesterday.  

Jax is sitting next to me on the sofa poking me with his nose.  This means that I am being summonsed for purposes of canine entertainment.  I am happy to say that he is going to Daycare tomorrow where they will be in charge of Himself's entertainment.  

Definitely dark with sour cherries today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.