Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Migyoung

I met Migyoung (pronounced just as it looks, mig-young) in 2013, when she was fairly new at Sisters of the Road and I was exploring ways to support that organization. Now, nearly a decade later, she and Sammy are the only people on the staff who have been around for a whole decade. The founders died, others sought jobs in other places, and the roof failed and the whole place was flooded just before Covid locked it down. Now it is struggling to regain its feet. They need volunteers for their Board of Directors and I'm in conversation about it.

It was a great reunion for Migyoung and me. Migyoung is also a photographer whose work I very much admire (also uses a Fujifilm camera). We talked about death, hope, impermanence, photography, and of course, the impact of Covid, climate catastrophe, and the Trump presidency on houseless people. Our hearts and minds are in harmony. We would love to work together again. I've decided to apply. One more meeting on Monday with the Acting Executive Director, and I'll see how to move forward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.