View from a Gate

We walked in Hamilton Wood this morning. Up through the wood and back down by the fields. There used to be extra wide margins on the fields around here, but I noticed this morning that some of the fields have been ploughed right to the edges. I’m guessing the government has stopped the subsidies to farmers to leave the margins to grow wild.
We would rather have been walking in the wood at Shell Bay at Elie, but I’m conscious of the cost of petrol at the moment, so staying a bit closer to home when we can.
I took this shot just as we got back to the car.

It has been like a summer’s day here with sunshine, blue skies and fluffy white clouds.

Extra of some tiny toadstools with a fairy on top in the garden.

There are fairies at the bottom of my garden
It’s not so very, very far away
You pass the gardener’s shed and just walk straight ahead.
I do so hope they’ve really come to stay.

There’s a little wood with moss in it and beetles
And a little stream that quietly runs through
You wouldn’t think they’d dare to come merry-making there.
Well they do.

(Rose Fyleman 1920)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.