Home again

We were up early to pack and tidy up and then cruised the last few minutes into the boatyard. After loading up the car and paying for the diesel used during the trip, we were off.

First stop, Stoke for breakfast. The place we were aiming for was still closed, it was still early, so we went to a Tesco's cafe, always good for a full English.

Then further down the Trent & Mersy canal to The Star at Stone, a place I first visited 47 years ago when a group of us took a boat from Preston Brook and down the T&M. Sadly, I learned this morning that one of that group died earlier this week. This shot is of a sign on the lock gate, closures because of the water shortages are hitting many canal-based businesses.

And then home - it took just over three hours from Stone, not too bad at all. I've not done anything apart from unloading the car and enjoying a nap on the sofa. I've also ordered a replacement tablet PC because the screen on my current one was broken early last week, I didn't push it far enough onto a shelf and it landed on a corner when it hit the floor.

Lots of washing to do tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.