Tunnel

The day started late, I let the crew sleep in until 10, in glorious sunshine. At Wardle lock I worked through a guy who went on his first boat in the 60's and was telling me about rallies with the last working Number Ones.

The Middlewich three were staffed and we came down Big Lock with a guy who  buys and renovates boats, his first one cost a grand and he hoped to sell the current one for ten grand profit. He also moves around looking for work at boatyards.

Big Lock was the last lock of the trip and we had about four hours cruising to end the day but not unevental.

The sun went and there were Biblical rains - I've not seen rain for months so it was a big deal, the crew made me a cup of tea and then I switched to beer. 

We saw a boat being lifted at a boatyard and then passed the Anderton lift. Finally, the tunnels. Barnton is about 500 yards and sort of straight. Saltersford is shorter but dog-legged so we had to stooge around to enter between the hour and twenty past - the crew promptly appeared at 17:00 to clear me for passage.

We're tied up near the boatyard and will shortly dine on the finest Mediterranian cusine (pizza).

Drop the boat, off for a full English and then home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.