Living my dream

By Mima

Invasion

A couple of weeks ago I blipped some gorse flowers and wrote about the invasive qualities of the plants.

Today’s blip shows a cattle paddock where gorse is gradually smothering the grass, and I assume the farmer will take steps before too long to clear it.

It is a tedious and expensive job however it’s done, always involving a digger to remove the plants and as much of the root systems as possible. The seed can survive in the soil for up to 60 years, so constant clearance is required long-term.

I faffed about writing emails and prepping spuds and parsnips for roasting this morning. I should have got into the garden instead, because once I did get outside there were only three hours before a persistent drizzly rain set in. How infuriating: I was part way through cutting the grass in the tunnel house paddock.

So I came indoors and ate roast parsnip and potatoes :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.