Living my dream

By Mima

Freesia

The first freesia flower has come out. I have looked after this large pot of the bulbs much more diligently than in previous years and it will pay off. 

There are dozens of flower heads developing and there should be a really spectacular display in a wee while. 

The scent of just this one head is intoxicating: one of my favourite garden aromas.

Another scent I love is from three viburnum x burkwoodii bushes near the rugby grounds, which catch my nose as we walk past each day. I’m not sure it’s the right time of year, but I took some cuttings today. Hopefully they’ll root and will grow to provide me that wonderful smell Chez Mima.

I was caught in a very fast cold southerly change this afternoon. The temperature dropped from 19C to 11C in 15 minutes…and saw me scuttling indoors to close windows and put the jug on for a cuppa. It’s typical spring weather.

And yes, Bean scuttled indoors well ahead of me. She was mixed up with a pile of blankets when I joined her in the truck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.