Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Mouth of the River

I plucked up courage and flew Nancy out of the Blackwood River today from the house.  It’s always a bit nerve wracking when you fly your drone over water, but you really do build up trust in your equipment the more you fly.  They are such clever instruments and will tell you when you’re entering a “No Fly Zone”  or there’s an obstacle coming up, or your battery is low etc, etc, etc.  This view is of the mouth of the Blackwood River and believe it or not Nancy and I were able to take this image together when she was over a kilometre from the house.  I’m standing on a deck in a house right near the mouth of the river.  Augusta is a very popular holiday destination but at the moment its very quiet.  In a couple of weeks time when school holidays are on it will be a hive of activity.
This night on the news we saw the start of the Queens journey to her final resting place and it was so poignant to see the Procession driving through villages along the way to Edinburgh.  Believe me, if I was in the United Kingdom at this moment I would definitely be waiting somewhere along the route so that I could pay my respects to a remarkable woman.  I just trust that many of my blip buddies will have that opportunity.

I have added an extra of an overhead image I took of the river.  The colours are absolutely exquisite and I might even blow this image up and frame it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.