Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Brancaster Staithe

Thank you for all the hearts on yesterday's whirling waders spectacle, it was a wonderful thing to see.

Today is our 29th wedding anniversary. We had some good plans for the day, Gavin wanted to get up early and run the distance of half a marathon, I was going to run a considerably shorter distance, and then after breakfast we were going to Sandringham to pay our respects to the queen followed by a celebratory lunch for our special day.

However, I woke up at 4.30am feeling rather sick. I had a slight temperature, headache and could not lift my head off the pillow without feeling like I was going to vomit. Great! Gavin could not see much difference in the colour of my face and the white sheets. I spent the morning in bed, Gavin went to find a pharmacy to get me some anti nausea tablets. Poor man tried several villages but eventually had to drive all the way to Kings Lynn (about 40 minutes away) where there was a pharmacy that was open. When I got a tummy bug last summer in Switzerland he bought some brilliant tablets from over the counter and they worked so well. Today he was told to phone NHS 111 and request a prescription, and someone would try to phone back within 3 hours, and only with a prescription could they give me anti-nausea tablets! Grr, I thought there was a drive to lessen the burden on the NHS and let pharmacies handle minor things like this, but no. 

So no anniversary lunch as I could not eat anything - Gavin treated himself to a pizza takeaway from the restaurant nearby. By early afternoon I was feeling slightly better so we packed up and left, but we popped in to the waterfront of Brancaster Staithe where I quickly took this photo and Gavin got a soft serve for pudding. The journey was okay, although I did not feel great in the car. The traffic was very sticky with two separate incidents of a broken down vehicle which caused massive queues.

We are now home and I am sure a good night's sleep will have me feeling much better tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.