For L,

who will be as surprised as I am that this plant is not only still alive but kicking.

I visited two 'Energy Saving Homes' today as part of Oxford Open Doors to try to learn some lessons for my build. The first had external insulation, more efficient and less space-wasting than internal insulation, but I cannot use it on my house because 'it would alter the character of the neighbourhood'. (The house I visited had been pebble-dashed and now looks like it's rendered, whereas my house is brick.)

The second was an enormous house in North Oxford which has recently been brought to EnerPHit standards, which is what I am aiming for. It was very helpful to see such a thing finished and to be able to ask questions. The owner has a 5Kw Air Source Heat Pump for his huge house. I have been recommended a 6Kw one for my much smaller house. I will follow up. He also has a 'heat battery' for hot water. Completely new to me so another thing to research.

A very useful afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.