Sychnant Heron

Yet another Sunday Sychnant visit, and yet another swallow no-show - well in fairness there were a few, but far too sporadic in their dipping and skimming to be able to get even a blurred shot. 

Instead, I’m entertained by a heron - probably the same one I blipped two weekends ago. He’s in the reeds when I arrive, but even slow and careful movement spooks him, and he’s off into the heather. Still, that’s another chance to photograph him before he’s had enough and off he flies again - this time way out of reach along the valley. 

Eventually he returns, once more landing in the marshy heather. It’s clearly a favourite spot, where presumably he finds an ample stock of food. We watch him for some time - G now having joined me from his circular walk. One moment stretched up tall, long neck elegantly reaching skywards as he surveys the scene; another hunched up deep within the vegetation; another, silently stalking prey we never see him catch.

Of course, as he’s my only subject of the day, I end up with a range of shots, but I’ve gone with this one where he’s alert and hunkered down, taloned foot raised ready to move towards a capture. 
 
Apologies for another late posting, and many thanks  for the response to Saturday’s red squirrels! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.