so yesterday

I want to brag about yesterday
I did brag about yesterday but then I lost all of it 
I want to brag because Kate and I did amazing technological things - so then I close out the day by losing my blip but oh well
I got an Apple Watch this last year. Someone was astounded I didn't have Apple Watch 6 but I was happy with my Fitbit and the Apple watch battery wouldn't last you through the night. 
BUT Apple Watch 7 would let people know if you fell and didn't get back up. SOLD.

Then I corrupted Kate into getting an Apple Watch too.

There is a walkie-talkie feature!! How cool would that be for Iceland? 
Envision me taking a picture of Kate.
Kate, could you move a foot to the right?
Ok, pose as if you're walking

Cool right?
Should be simple to set up right? 
It wasn't. It was a lot of googling and trying different settings and then restarting phones and restarting watches and then finding the solution in the comment to, not the article itself, but the comment to an article about fixing the problem because there was some weird setting in some weird place AND then restarting the phone. 

It was just as difficult to do the "find my people" feature. 
Great thing about the Apple eco-system is every device will help you find every device. You can't find your phone? Use your iPad. (I do this a LOT.) It works for everything so they even have Apple pods that you can put on your dog or your luggage or your bag. 
WELL.... you can also track your friends! IF your friends let you. But you can see why this would be very handy in Iceland, right? Especially since we already know that I'm going to take too long to take a picture and Kate is going to go off exploring while I dally. 

Point being, stupidly difficult, we did it. We rock. 

Right now Ukraine is doing well. We should enjoy it but we don't know what is going to happen. 

Pro-Kremlin bloggers and propagandists are losing their minds. "Stalin, as much of a vampire as he was, never stooped to this and said how we lost nothing and there are no problems." 

A former member of Russia's parliament and TV pundit, Boris Nadezhdin, said it is impossible for Russia to win and has called for peace talks. 

The Russian Defense Ministry said the retreat in Kharkiv was "planned." We believe him because we know Russia would deliberately hand over a large number of prisoners of war and  military equipment and have huge traffic jams at the Russian border. The Ukrainian ambassador tweeted a video of Russian's fleeing

This isn't just a military win, it is a social/political win, because Ukraine needs to persuade us that it can win and that we should keep supporting it. Many leaders were happy to appease Putin, learning nothing from Hitler. They wanted Ukraine to give up territory, foolishly thinking this would stop the war. By showing the West a major victory, Ukraine is arguing that we should stand by them and that rather than telling them to give up territory, we should provide more weapons. 

Russia retreated from TWO logistical hubs, Izyum and Kupiansk. Even the Pentagon is surprised by how well Ukraine did in the North. 

There are reports that Russia has stopped plans to send more troops to Ukraine. A lot of volunteers have apparently refused to go. 

There was one thing that slowed Ukraine down:  there was a hedgehog in the road. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.