Living my dream

By Mima

Weather!

The day has been governed by the weather, even more than usual. It was a town day and I expected to be wrapped up and scurrying from one location to the next, but there were long sunny spells between thundery showers. Fantastic clouds too.

We managed to slot in three walks between downpours. And we arrived at friends in sunshine then watched rain streaming down the windows while we sat and drank coffee. We got back out to the car when the clouds headed off to the north.

Most mask mandates have been lifted in NZ overnight. Covid numbers are low and pressure on health services has reduced. It is a decision welcomed by most people I think. Certainly almost everybody in the supermarket and the library (which were the only two places I visited today) was maskless.

I shall continue to wear one in busy indoor settings. Covid hasn’t disappeared, and because a mask reduces my chances of catching it by 50% I’m happy to continue using one when I’m in town. No doubt if I had had to wear one all day every day at work for the last two and a half years I’d feel differently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.