Living my dream

By Mima

Go carefully with Caerphilly

On Sunday I made a Caerphilly (my 4th) which unexpectedly lost too much whey during the process and consequently turned out smaller than it should have done, and rather dry. 

I can’t precisely determine why; but likely a combination of cutting the curds too small, heating them a little too much, and/or stirring them a bit too enthusiastically.

So today I decided to give it another go, following the recipe very closely indeed. It is currently being pressed until the morning, but so far it looks exactly as it should. Here’s hoping…

Here is Bean checking the quality of the line trimming. I’ve cleared the grass and weeds from a 4m x 12m area because I’m about to construct a temporary extension to the chook run (in the background). 

In a little over three weeks time I collect six new point-of-lay hens. The current trio are still laying happily, contrary to my expectations, so I’ll have nine in all. The current run is a bit tight for so many, and more space is required. 

The excitement of the day was spotting a Tui in the kowhai tree in front of the truck. It is the first time I’ve seen one so close Chez Mima in six years here. And only the third one I’ve seen on the property at all. I hope it - and a mate - are here to nest. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.