Living my dream

By Mima

Spot the difference

These are the two Caerphilly cheeses I’ve made in the last four days. The same amount of milk, the same cultures, the same rennet! As I said yesterday I think I made a few minor stuff-ups while making the one on the left, which combined to give me a small dry wheel.

The one on the right is what they should both look like. Thank goodness I got my mojo back. 

It will be interesting to compare them in 3 weeks’ time.

In further culinary adventures this morning I made the most amazing parsnip soup: not with peanut butter this time, but with a mixture of spices from a Hugh F-W roast parsnip recipe. Coriander, black pepper, chilli flakes, fenugreek, turmeric and salt. It is possibly the best soup I’ve ever made.

There has been a gale nor’wester most of the day. Not my favourite weather, but at least it is something we expect at this time of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.