Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Paying My Respects

Saturday
I very much wanted to go to Windsor Castle and pay my respects to our wonderful Queen. Windsor is a short train ride from home and I left home just after 7am. I’m going away tomorrow and have lots to do today, so I knew it had to be today and I wanted to go early before it got too busy.

The flowers are cleared each night to make room for another day’s contributions. I spent all morning in Windsor so this main picture was taken at lunchtime. But even at 8am there were plenty to look at. I spent time to look at the beautiful flowers and pictures, and read many of the notes that some people had attached. How loved our Queen was!

I went for a walk, had a late breakfast, finally went to get my own flowers and a card, and went back to the gate to lay them amongst the others. By this time there were a LOT of people. It was sweet to see all the children who wanted to leave flowers and their own hand-drawn pictures.

I was asked for an interview from an ITV presenter, but declined. For me, my gesture of respect for our Queen was just too much of a private moment. However, I’ve loved hearing so many stories on the TV and radio of how people’s lives have been impacted by the Queen, many from people who had the privilege to meet her at some point. Each story gives me a greater appreciation of who she was and all that she accomplished. Surely she will come to be known as ‘Elizabeth The Great’.

See two Extra photos. One is a collage of various scenes from the carpet of flowers, with some very sweet pictures and ‘gifts’. The second one shows a few views of Windsor Castle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.