Three

I made this one last night at the dedication of the memorial, along with 229 others. Then I was up till midnight processing and deleting, slept till 6 a.m., up again and more processing till about 1pm. Then I had to do the posting while I ate a late lunch. First to Imarisha and Sharita. Then to the people I knew who I’d photographed and who might like to have their photos. Then Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, each with its own quirks and demands. I was at it till 4pm, and then took a walk to run a simple errand but saw nothing I wanted to photograph. So I’m counting this one for today, since I processed it today. It’s the only one I’ve converted to black and white. 

The three men were responding to Mic Crenshaw, who was singing his own lyrics about the danger of being Black in the USA. These men are about the same age as Keaton’s father. I wondered if they knew him.

Walidah Imarisha read this account of Keaton Otis’s father, Fred Bryant: “Fred developed severe heart problems, and his doctor told him to take it easy and reduce stress, or he could die. Fred replied, ‘Then I’m going to die, because I won’t stop until there is justice for my son.’ Fred suffered a severe stroke and passed away Oct. 29, 2013. One community member who knew Fred from the vigils said, ‘He died of a broken heart,’ and ‘The police killed two people that day.’”

I thought I’d get caught up today, but no. Maybe tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.