Down Memory Lane...

Today I was determined to venture into my out-of-control craft room and come out with boxes of stuff to donate to the Salvation Army Thrift store. Well, mission not quite accomplished...I got waylaid.

I should have known better, but when I came across boxes and containers of memorabilia from my teaching days, I opened them up to sort through the contents...and OOPS..fell down the rabbit hole of memories..

I was lucky to have a varied career in teaching, and each aspect of it brings back special memories; The memories I found today in those boxes were from my Physical Ed, Health and coaching years... and they were filled with photos of teams and end-of-season parties as well as cards, letters and postcards, some of which  the students had sent after they had left school. The card in my blip photo is from my gymnastics team of 1975..what a wonderful group of young girls..

One item that was really special was from the students of the favourite course I ever taught - in 1984 - a full credit senior health course that dealt with everything from womb to tomb. It was so special because the issues we covered hit home with so many of the students' own experiences.. and they were willing to share and open up to each other.. At our end-of-year party at my house, they gave me a scrapbook they had prepared with comments, poems, cards etc to say good-bye...it still brings tears...

Needless to say, I didn't throw out a single thing from those boxes! 

So, tomorrow, I will go back in there and really try to find something to throw out! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.