Oh..To Be There!

How amazing it must be to be in the UK right now, and able to see all this happening with your own eyes, not on a TV screen. Mind you, there is no way I could stand in line for all those hours, but kudos to those who can...a once in a life-time experience! I have spent hours watching it all from the comfort of my sofa...and am so impressed with all the pomp and circumstance and all the organization that must go on behind the scenes...It has been a wonderful tribute to the Queen...and there is still more to come...

Along the lines of wishing I were elsewhere and missing the travels I used to enjoy (and hope to again soon),  I am currently following my friend and neighbour D's trip to Ireland via email. She and her husband are on a guided bus tour, and every night ..at the end of her day, not ours...she sends home lots of photos....

It is like going down  a different memory lane from yesterday's blip..Ten years ago, my other friend and neighbour E and I did a self-drive for a couple of weeks in Ireland and I have wanted to return ever since...D is visiting a lot of the same places we did, so I dug out a map and my photo book of the trip and have it next to me when I open her daily email; that way, I can follow along and also compare photos...E and I had more time there than she does, and we were interested in seeing things that would probably not be on her guided tour, but there are still overlaps....Today, the overlap was the Cliffs of Moher..

Talk about arm chair traveling...but one of these days....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.