The .....

..... twins.

Today I've had a rare Wednesday off work and have spent it pottering and generally relaxing ( the housework can wait ). This evening has been the usual Wednesday cake night at my house with the P's and Mr M in attendance.

Earlier today I was looking at Heavens-Above to see if there were any interesting satellites to view in the clear sky forcast for tonight and noticed that there were two very bright Iridium satellite flares due in the same part of the sky within 50 seconds of each other, so decided to try and get a photo of them.

After the last of my guests had left tonight ( just before 11pm ), I had a wander down to the the river to escape the street lights and set my camera up on a tripod and waited for the flares to arrive at 11:18. You can see both flares in the middle of this photo in the constelation of Gemini ( hence the title of this blip ) the top flare is from Iridium 94 and the lower one is Iridium 23. Best viewed LARGE.

As tonight is the first time I have captured two bright satellite flares in the same photo, today's blip is .....


..... The twins.



More satellites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.