This is the day

By wrencottage

Prime Minister Number One!

We watched the late Queen’s coffin processing from Buckingham Palace to Westminster Hall on television this afternoon. I felt a huge surge of emotion yet again as I marvelled at the superb pageantry. I’m aware that some people have had their fill of it by now, but personally I’m drinking in the feeling of history in the making, and am full of gratitude that I live in a country with a constitutional monarchy, and for the stability it has brought us for so long. 

Later on we went out for a walk in the late afternoon sunshine, and I took this photo of the Churchill statue on the Green. Winston Churchill was, of course, the Queen's first Prime Minister. When I was 16 I queued to pay my respects to him at his lying in state in Westminster Hall in January 1965, little knowing that within ten years I would be married and have moved to live in his old parliamentary consituency. 

Thank you so much for all your stars and hearts for my blip yesterday, by the way, which were much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.