Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Blip 999

Days don't get much worse than this.

I took my regular low dose med that I've taken for years and the acid within started to dissolve in my throat. That lead to terrible chest pains, then through to my glands and ears. The pressure on my chest went through to my back and the intense pain lasted for hours. It's esophagitis. I slept using Reuben's heart monitor to make sure that my heart wasn't the issue and my O2 and HR sats were just fine though the pain was utterly the worst imaginable.

I woke up in the night sick and with a fever so I laid down on the bathroom floor to cool down. I was lying in Callum's when taking this in the morning before it all began.

This is all dramatic, but it's both cathartic and a record were ever to happen again. I've had the med dissolve before in my throat and it's been about an hour of heart burn, but this was an altogether new experience. I was very close to getting someone to call an ambulance but knew with Reuben still off school and sick, it'd be too hard.

I still don't have all the answers, but the pain swallowing has certainly lessened writing this on May 1.

I feel disappointed in myself, quite down about it, that the plans for Reuben just haven't happened as I've lost two days and most of last week with the regular colds in the house and the extra work I took on. I get like that being a perfectionist which is not a good trait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.