Legacy

By Legacy

Bread's Gone -- Let's Go.

I took a bag of bread bits, a large bag I might add, down to the bay this evening to see what I could do with moving subjects and nothing works better for that than gulls. With the words of Joe our Audubon bird walk guide of a few weeks ago ringing in my ears ("practice, practice, practice"), I fired away -- 198 shots worth. Most of them were garbage, so apparently I'm in for a lot more practice time.

Interestingly enough, I remember my father telling me the same thing in 1960. I lost a lot of time in the intervening years doing other things besides serious photography, so I'm going to have to play catch up. Sometimes it's hard to admit that you still have things to learn when you reach my age -- I'm always talking myself down from the concept that I should be doing everything right and that I should know how to do everything I need or want to do. Not so. Learning is forever, so I'll chop up more bread and go back again.

You bird loving blippers will love this: I bought a giant bag of frozen french fries, took them home and baked them, cut them up in little pieces and threw them to the gulls too. With all the hunger in the world I don't know whether to be embarrased or guilty that I did that, especially that I turned on the oven to do it, but I try to do what I can to help those in need so I think a bag of french fries is okay for the critters once in a while. Only a blipper or a bird lover, or both, would understand the lengths one will go to for a blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.