a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Darting About

Amazingly its 2:30pm and I've already been to the GP's for my annual checkup, Southmead Clinical Research for drug trial tests, visited sister in hospital, come back home and got a blip.  Travelling by motorbike helps with the traffic and parking issues of course.  But I think I might need a lie down now ;-)

Most importantly Janet was in good spirits and pretty perky considering that she'd had a significant operation the day before.  Say one thing about my sister, say she's a trouper.

When I got back there was some dragonfly activity on the little pond.  A Southern Hawker male was zooming about.  Unfortunately although I crept up slowly he'd obviously decided that the pond didn't have much to offer him and went off to investigate the nearby trees.  I hung around in case he came back, but sadly it was not to be.  Instead, here is a much smaller male Common Darter.  These tend to be harder to get a photo of in flight than the hawkers, but not today, as this one obligingly hovered nicely for just long enough for this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.