hpx

By hpx

Jude and Lake Dunstan

Today we biked the Dunstan Trail. I was about 20 years old when I first came through this landscape. It was pre-Clyde Dam and the gorge hadn't been flooded.

Road works had started to build the current highway. It was metal, rough, with lots of stop/go signs. I remember looking across at the stark, unforgiving landscape we've been in today and thinking "I want to go over there".

I've subsequently biked and driven that highway, all the time looking longingly to the other side. The Dunstan Trail has made my dream a reality. It was worth waiting 40 years for.

It was so much fun. :-)

On the left side you can see chunks of the trail. High up to the left of Jude is one of the hill side stabilising areas required for the Clyde Dam.

Today's gratitude: For feeling fully alive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.