Crime

Crime is thankfully not a subject with which I have had much personal contact. Though there was the break in to my car a few years ago in Aberdeen, and I have had my wallet stolen on two occasions, most recently last week from a hire car. The first occasion was in Rome where a family of gypsies used their children to distract my attention while they helped themselves to the contents of my jacket pocket.

This Rome event was particularly annoying as I had lived in Rome for 10 years and so I was familiar with the tactics used by gypsies in Rome. I was too relaxed and not paying attention in a location which I mistakenly thought to be safe. The lesson is nowhere is safe.

Here the photograph shows crime novels set in Aberdeen and Sicily. The protagonists would be unlikely to involve themselves in such petty crimes as theft of a wallet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.