OXENHOLME LAKE DISTRICT

A much better day today. 

After receiving an e-mail from Avanti saying we might want to change G;'s travel plans as there were a lot of cancellations going on this week and to keep checking their website.  I did this on a daily basis and each day the time of his train left on time with no problem,  However yesterday on checking all of a sudden he word DELAY came up against his train - aaarrgggh!!  Avanti said they were expecrting extremely high volumes of travellers and suggested everyone ensure they left plenty of time for their journeys. We made alternative back up plans just in case.

Anyway after all that G arrived at Edinburgh Waverley this morning, at about 10:25, 25 minutes early and there wasn't a soul on the platform.  The train was already in and although Avanti showed that his train and in particular his compartment, was booked up.  Well there were only a few people in the compartment and he got his seat in plenty of time.

I drove up to Oxenholme early to ensure I could find somewhere to park expecting the station to be busy and there was a handful of people when I arrived.  I got myself a coffee, had my Kindle in my bag and went into the waiting room.  Very few people in there too. 

His train duly arrived, only about 5 minutes late and we went straight to Sizergh Barn for some lunch.  It was busy, but not much waiting time so all was good.

Now back to yesterday, G had a dental appointment in the morning and and INR blood test booked in the afternoon.  The dental appointment went OK, except the crown that was being made for him wasn't a good fit so the dentist put back the temporary one and just gave him the filling he was scheduled for.  He will have to go back in about 3 weeks (after his return from here) to have the crown fitted.  That's not that good really considering he's had to pay BUPA prices to have the crown and it doesn't fit!!!!

Anyway, he was feeling a bit dizzy again, but got  home OK and settled down.  He then promptly fell asleep and forgot all about his INR appointment, until Hubby rang him to check he was OK.  Unfortunately the falling asleep is part of his conditions, so Instant panic.

I got home from my U3A camera club about 4.30 and promptly rang to tell him off.  He needs this test rather urgently as it was way too high last week. So I contacted our surgery here at about 4.40 yesterday afternoon, asking if they would be able to fit him in sometime.  Now I wasn't expecting a reply until the next day and then thought, if he's lucky he'll get in on a cancellation next week!!!  Well AMAZINGLY, the surgery rang me at 10 past 6 to offer an appointment THIS AFTERNOON!!!! I was gobsmacked.  So at 4.30 this afternoon he had his INR checked - and it was good.  He phoned his GP in Edinburgh who gave him his medication advice and then said could  he get another one in about two weeks time.  I rang the surgery and have got him another appointment in exactly two  weeks time. AMAZING - once again our brilliant  surgery came up trumps.  We are sooooo lucky.

All good here now, so we can all relax and I can start preparing for mine and Hubby's holiday, after paying our due respects to Her Majesty on Monday of course.  !!!!.7

That's all from me for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all todoay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.