Shy?

I’m glad I chose not to fly, but travelling back by land and sea does take a long time.

On the tram at 7am for a 7:35 commuter train to Belfast. A short walk to the bus station for 10:20 Citylink service to the ferry. A smooth, busy crossing - marred by an uncooked veggie burger - and another bus to Glasgow. Another short walk to Central station for a train to Mount Florida. I load the car, give Owen the Moulton Brown I got on the boat, and head for Edinburgh. 15 minutes top up at Harthill services (£1.50/kWh - thanks a bundle BP Pulse) and I’m at St Margaret’s house at 7:30 for the exhibition. Only an hour late - and still before Kerry and Em arrive.

The exhibition is great. A huge room full of Savage family art from the 1930s to the present day (extra). The place is busy, full of lots of old, familiar faces: Trog, Andres & Fran, Henri & Catriona, Kay, Babs, Ewan & Ella and countless Savages.

Kerry, Em and I go to the Bellfield for beers and food. At closing time a taxi takes us back to Porty, where wine is waiting. And another dissolute evening slurps to a close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.