Here and Now

By Mole

Nature at Night

I volunteered to bookend group hikes with a naturalist at North Chagrin. I went out twice with Marty. One group ahead of us came running out of the woods screaming. They had an unplanned encounter with a ground nest of hornets. Several people got stung multiple times. We had to change our route to avoid that.

We did however visit the dead cherry tree with several  holes in it where Marty’s daughter dropped his good flashlight.  (See extra). 

A campfire, an inflatable planetarium,  owls, flying squirrels, face painting, etc. etc. were on offer. I missed looking through the three portable telescopes on the pond boardwalk brought from Observatory Park in Geauga County. My left leg got several mosquito bites, despite spray. What can I say?  They love to feast on me. I couldn’t stay to feed any more. 

Tonight I learned that if you count the number of times a katydid makes it’s sound and add 40 to it, you’ll know the temperature in Fahrenheit. I’m full of useless information. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.