Thatcher Rock

 Another lovely day and this morning I went to Meadfoot Beach in Torquay. It's one of my favourites because it's always easy to park there apart from high season. It's a very rocky beach which I like. Today I walked up Ilsham Marine Drive, or Millionaire's Row as it's sometimes known. There's a short branch off the south west coast path which takes you to Thatcher Point and 300 metres beyond is Thatcher Rock. It’s called Thatcher Rock is because if you look at the island from this angle there's an outcrop that looks like a thatcher working on the roof of a devon cottage.

Nearly 40 years ago as a junior Community Psychiatric Nurse I used to come up here at lunchtimes when I could. There are some benches where I'd sit and eat my sandwich. I'd take my binoculars and I'd frequently see Peregrine falcons hunting for their lunch or on one occasion, perched on a nearby branch, eating it.

The sun has lit up the bay nicely and I've added a panoramic shot as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.