Thank You, Ma'am

Like many of the British public, I haven't been far today. The coverage of Her Majesty's funeral has been tremendously good and from the first skirl of the pipes as the first procession struck up I was hooked.

As a young child living in Invergarry the highlands I'd hear the pipes every day. We lived by the River Garry and a piper lived just across the river. Every morning he'd march up and down playing the bagpipes. They say the pipes sound better across water (some heathens say the Atlantic Ocean is about right) and certainly in my memories they sounded good there. 

I love the sound and there's something tremendously emotional about a lone piper. We had that on two occasions, the first at Westminster Abbey and then again at the end of the committal at St. George's Chapel at Windsor.

I felt this important day needed to be marked in my journal so on this occasion I've used a picture taken of the TV coverage, thanks BBC. I've straightened up some verticals and modified it a bit. Won't do it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.