The Cascades

After a 3-day pause our guys were back on the driveway. The grab lorry came first thing and took away all the broken up bits of concrete and earth (separately) and now they have more room to move. The mini-digger has gone now, the gate post has been rebuilt further up and they're now getting on with building the stone retaining wall. It's all going well!

This afternoon I had to go the opticians and after that I went on to New Bridge on Dartmoor and took a walk down the River Dart. The river is still quite low but it's a nice walk and I haven't been there for a few years. This is a popular stretch with kayakers but it looks a bit low to me. The fact that there were no cars with racks in the car park is confirmation of that I suppose.

I don't know if there's enough drop to call these 'falls' but they're known as the Cascades and they look good against the broadleaf trees. I like that the river beyond is quite still and giving nice reflections. Exposure is a quarter of a second to give a bit of form to the rushing water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.