An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Let them eat cake...

Oh my goodness we were spoiled today!  But more on that in a mo....

Woke up hoping my sore shoulder would have miraculously disappeared but nope, still there.  It's the oddest thing.  Not painful at all when I am at rest but when I try to move my arm a certain way, agony!  

Our best friends Agnes and Adrian were coming to dinner today and I had things to do in preparation for their visit, so took a couple of full strength co-codomol to get me on the move.

D made lunch while I prepared the aubergines, peppers, onions and courgettes to be roasted in a drizzle of olive oil, chopped garlic and oregano.  Strangely my shoulder was fine while I was chopping.  It's at it's most painful if I shrug.  Impossible to bring my shoulder up towards me ear, so I didn't do that!  :-))  

Lunch eaten and roasted veg lasagne made, (also made homemade garlic bread - well I bought ciabattas and filled them with homemade garlic, parsley and parmesan butter :-) D went for a hydrotherapy session with Alan and I headed upstairs to get changed and throw some make up at my face.  I even managed to blow dry my hair so shoulder must be getting easier.

Ele had given us half of Kenny's birthday cake home with us yesterday (as well as a load of jam and custard doughnuts!) as with them going away today they would have gone to waste.  I put them out to have with coffee when Agnes and Adrian arrived, then Agnes walked in carrying one of her amazing homemade Victoria sponge cakes!  Oh my!  We have done well for cake this week!  First Esme's birthday cake, then Kenny's and now this one!

I quickly took the plate of goodies I'd prepared through to Alan's support worker Penny for her to have and share the left overs with the rest of team. 

David's favourite cake is Victoria sponge (especially Agnes's) so he was very happy :-)  Coffee (and tea) made, Agnes had the honour of cutting us all a wedge of cake.  Oh my, it is sooooooo good!  Light as a feather.  

Had a lovely afternoon and evening catching up with them both.  They both work in health services and Agnes is off tomorrow but Adrian is working.  That determined who was having wine and who was driving.  Nae luck Adrian :-)

Agnes refused to take any cake home with her and that made David very happy!  Guess what he's having for breakfast lunch dinner   a treat tomorrow? ;-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.