Life through the lens...

By ValC

We pay tribute to Queen Elizabeth II

A few weeks ago I didn’t think I would spend a day of our holiday watching the television.
However today was a great moment in history and one not to be missed.
A very moving day in which I shed more than a few tears.
As a florist I greatly admired the flowers on top of the coffin. Flowers and foliage from Buckingham Palace, Clarence House and Highgrove.
Rosemary for remembrance, English oak for strength and love, and a sprig of myrtle cut from a plant that grew from a sprig that was in the Queen’s wedding bouquet.

The hymns were some of my favourites, and especially ‘ Love Divine all Loves Excelling ‘ written by Charles Wesley. A great reminder of my mum and dad.

A most moving moment when the Scepter, Orb and Crown were taken from the top of the coffin and placed on the alter
The Lord Chamberlain breaking his wand and placing it on the coffin.
The coffin lowered into the vault as the piper played the lament.
Tears flowed.

A truly memorable occasion and perfectly carried out by all who took part. Especially all the members of her family.

I feel especially privileged to have been born on The Queen’s 18th Birthday in 1944.
No longer will I have the National Anthem played as I wake up on the 21st April 2023.

Thank you Ma’am for your life devoted to serving your people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.