Lingonsylt - Lingonberry sauce

Another day that surprised me!
This morning I decided to have a quick look at the Queen's funeral in London and found it was available live on the BBC international news channel. (The Swedish public TV was also live-sending it on one of the channels.) I started to watch and found myself unable to look away. The spectacle of the event was fascinating.
I didn't just sit there gazing at the screen. I had a bucket of lingon berries to clean, removing all the twigs, bilberries, leaves etc.  Once I'd cleaned the berries I had 3,5 kilos of good berries and it was time to turn them into lingon sauce, a bit like cranberry sauce.  The result is eaten with breakfast muesli, or served up with fish or meat dinners. The berries are so rich in vitamin C that it acts as a preservative and the lingonberry sauce rarely goes mouldy.
By the time I'd finished the funeral was also over.
The funeral was very well done - wonderfully planned and executed. I loved the various musical bits, and the services were thoughtful and inclusive. There was enough pomp and ceremony to please even the most ardent royalist! For me, a definite non-royalist, there was plenty of tradition to watch and wonder at, even if I sometimes wondered "why"? Mervyn Peake's Gormenghast came to mind once or twice.
The day seems to have been appreciated by a vast number of people and I wouldn't want to knock something that makes so many people happy.  I'm very glad the sun shone and the weather made being outside a pleasure.
Although not a royalist I can still wish King Charles III the best of luck in his new life as head of state.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.