twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

After letting the dug oot, feeding Alex and finding Tom's antibiotics  ( in the fridge, obv) I set about avoiding royal pagentry getting my Munro count for the year started.

Shortly before midday (after an uneventful drive up the A9 then across the A96 (?) to Spean Bridge) i rolled up to the head of Glen Nevis.

Loki opted for lunch,I opted for black attire and off we went to have a look at the Steil Falls. Hoachin it wiz so carried on up the Kyhber  up the riverbank before striking up the path to Aonach Beag. Shortly after I caught up with Ross, a 28 year old computer programmer fae London who proved a tough nut to shift.

Given the clag I graciously allowed him to chum me thru the mist ... its often useful to have another hand to decide which way the tiller should go.  Actually for someone who's booked his mountain leader course for next month, maybe I should have let him guide me...? No matter,  I managed to get us both to Loki's first Munro ( my 226th) before plodding onwards to 227 (me) 2 (Loki) 40 (Ross).
No views, no rain, noone else seen. It was a good wee dander 

I ripped up the descent and  by halfway back to the start, I couldn't see Ross, but he'd followed me far enough to be sure of his route back.

I sped off thru Glencoe and Crianlarich,  stopped for liquid in Callander before dropping Loki home at10. She got some welcome!!!

I dropped the car, went home via the Jubilee and am currently wondering why I  thought working tomorrow would be a good idea!
But I'm glad Loki copied admirably with his first hill outing, I'm also quietly thrilled that I too managed the 7th and 8th biggest hills in the land with no real bother. There's hope...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.