A Puzzling Pastime

John spends a lot of his 'down time' doing puzzles...either the old fashioned kind, as here, or games on his phone. He was also the only available person for a portrait!

Our rain wasn't as much as predicted, and although we have had some beautiful clouds, they don't seem to be yielding any moisture. But it has been a beautiful day with perfect temperatures.

I wasn't motivated enough to get up at 3am to watch the funeral in London, I did become quite transfixed by the BBC recaps after I got back from Pilates. I suspect that, with the possible coronation of Charles III, it may be one of the last of its kind. Elizabeth was a dedicated public servant, and probably did a lot to hold things together through some very difficult times, but I wonder what kind of support the monarchy, at least with this level of tradition and expense will have among the younger generations of British citizens. 

I cannot imagine how the Royal Family, particularly Charles, have managed to hold up under such intense public scrutiny . I hope that they will now have a chance to retire from public view for awhile so that they can grieve for their mother and grandmother.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.