Strange day

As an unscheduled public holiday, it was a strange day. I followed a bit of the funeral online, but mainly got on with reading some paperwork in preparation for a meeting tomorrow, and then had a quick look at the paper that needs finishing off asap and sending to a journal.

A couple of people dropped out of book group trip to Glasgow - colds caught when travelling. I knew there was a disadvantage to travelling apart from the fact that it's tiring and full of annoyances these days! We consolidated to one car, so soon after doing a peloton work out (well, two actually), I raced across to Leith Walk to get a bus up to Ridgeback's place and travelled with her M and E to Glasgow. Ditto on the return, when I was dropped off on Lothian Road. If there had been a bus that had come before I saw a taxi, I would have got that. But there wasn't, so the last leg was by taxi.

Great evening over in Glasgow in LauraMuir's very elegant flat in the West End. Part of an older building which, when it was a single house, must have been very impressive. It was owned by a Chemistry Professor, at some point. Obviously at one point, academics could afford such palatial luxury! Anyway, it's always amazing to get together with the book group. Next stop will be Porty, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.