Last resort.

I almost broke a record for fewest paces taken in a day; sitting here watching The Funeral.

I needed to pop out to the farm for some Cow Juice and saw this during my return.

In 1974, for reasons best known to politicians, this happened:-
"Cumbria was created as a county in 1974 from territory of the historic counties of Cumberland, Westmorland, Lancashire North of the Sands and a small part of Yorkshire, making it the second largest County in the country."

Appleby was so dischuffed they changed the town name to become:-
Appleby-in-Westmorland,
Cumbria.

When it happened I wondered what they'd do if "we" had another reshuffle and Westmorland reappeared.

Still not happy with the new lump/conglomerate of Counties (Cumbria is the third largest ceremonial county in England by area.) 
I wonder - can BOTH be true?  No doubt he'll know and tell me.

NOW, we hear that:-
"On 1 April 2023, the administrative county of Cumbria will be abolished and replaced with two new unitary authorities: Westmorland and Furness (Barrow-in-Furness, Eden, South Lakeland) and Cumberland (Allerdale, Carlisle, Copeland ).

I wonder if they'll twist, stick, or bust?
Appleby-in-Westmorland,
Westmorland and Furness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.