The tide is high

This morning it was sufficiently warm and sunny to breakfast in the garden, and watch a Red Admiral, a painted lady and Peacock butterfly visit the nearby buddleia.

Around 11.30 we set off for a swim at Lawrence’s beach as high tide was at noon. (Main shows AV and Alice B, in Baywatch mode). Although the water felt cold at first, Wearing the wetsuit allowed me to stay in for 20 minutes and enjoy the calm waters, the waves were barely more than ripples. The air was warm so I sat for awhile letting the bright sun dry my skin. I am sure i will have strange tan lines when I return to pool swimming.

Later A & I set out to find the best spot to witness sunrise (90 degrees E) on the morning of the vernal equinox, we also discovered the unmarked path to Higher Town which I had missed the previous day. The afternoon was hot and I wished I had packed more Summer clothes, shorts and tee shirt acceptable wear here, and unthinkable when packing last week back in Autumnal Leeds.

As we passed the St Martin’s Island Hall and Reading Room the locals had gathered for a BH post- funeral get together we were beckoned in to join them in a most welcome and refreshing glass of iced Pimms. A lovely generous gesture.

In the evening we dined at the Karma Hotel where from our table we were treated to a splendid sunset.

The day finished watching the edited highlights of HM QEII’s state funeral on the BBC News channel. I enjoyed seeing Emma, Muick and Sandy pay their final respects to their Mum. The whole occasion looked splendid and beautifully done, and it didn’t rain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.