Looking Up

I slept well at Laura's where I stayed over after bookgroup last night and enjoyed further conversation over breakfast.

I then made my way back to Queen Street Station taking a slightly different route from yesterday. As ever I was reminded that it pays to look up in Glasgow as you are often rewarded with details such as this on the old Athenaeum in Nelson Mandela Place. 

I would regularly go up "the dancing" in my late teens/early twenties in a succession of clubs in and around Sauchiehall Street (which is a shadow of its former self) including Maestros on Scott Street (extra although  the building itself is now demolished), which I always considered the "coolest" of the venues I frequented.  Apparently, I was not alone in thinking this as this article from last year reports. I can't say I remember the bouncers being that strict.

I shall be digging out my dancing shoes tonight as Scottish Country Dancing classes have resumed, just as much fun if not more than going up the dancing in times gone by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.