An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Anniverary...

Today is the anniversary of an event in my teenage years that changed the course of my life forever.

On a sunny warm evening on 2nd May 1981, fourteen year old me pulled on my skintight jeans, baggy t-shirt, pulled a brush through my blonde wedge, slicked some Max Factor bubblegum flavour lipgloss on my lips and in a cloud of Avon Occur perfume, I set off to my pal's house to spend Saturday night with her and other friends, listening to records and talking about who we fancied at the youth club.

My friend lived in the next town and I had been told to get the 9.30 bus home so I'd be in by 10pm. Of course being a teenage girl enjoying her Saturday night, I lost track of time and only noticed when it was 9.30 and there was no chance of getting to the bus stop in time (it was a 15 minute walk from my friend's house to the bus stop)so when my friend's 19 year old and very good looking brother offered me a lift home on his motorbike, there was only one thing to say.....YES PLEASE!

He gave me the spare helmet and on I climbed and as we sped past my school, all I could think was "Wow! How cool is this?! Can't wait till Monday to tell all my pals about it. They will be GREEN!"

Well I didn't quite make it to school on the Monday. Infact it was 16 months later in September 1982 before I set foot back in school, as three miles into our journey we were involved in a crash that left me with just about every bone shattered from the hips down. Oh and a fractured rib. All in all, not a pretty sight.

But, as they said in that fab telly programme in the 70s you know the one we can rebuild you. And rebuild me they did. Sadly not bionically but hey, beggars can't be choosers.

Oh and the stories I could tell about my 16 months in Glasgow Royal Infirmary. Stories to make you cry with laughter, weep with heartbreak, gasp in disbelief and cringe at many gory details. And the colourful people I met, from all walks of life. Certainly character building for someone of such tender years! I even found myself a little romantic interest but that's the ingenuity of teenage girls for you. ;)

And now today is another anniversary as today was the funeral of David's best friend Adrian's mum who sadly passed away last week. The legacy of my anniversary is painful, arthritic bones when I've been on my feet too long and I have been overdoing things the last few days so sadly I was unable to attend the funeral service with David and pay my last respects.

My apologies Mrs P, but I raise my glass to you now and hope that you are up there pain-free and having a good old natter with family and friends gone before. Xxx

PS I have now completed the write up for yeterday's blip.
PPS Today's blip is my little African Violet last blipped
HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.