Tourist

I was back in an office to work for the first time since lockdown. I calculated it had been 919 days since I last worked in an office. And it wasn’t even an office I’d been to before despite being my ‘home’ office.

Down in Edinburgh to have yearly performance reviews (all good!). Drove down in the morning and will stay overnight. Was strange being back in an actual office. At least I was used to the general chatter in the background of people talking from Kara’s random shout throughs from the living room.

Kara made sure I took a friend with me. So her Playmobil ‘gardener’ is joining me. Thought they enjoy the greenery of St Andrew’s Square.

Stayed just of Princes Street in a Hub By Premier Inn. The room is basically just your bed and bathroom but perfect for city centre where that’s all you need really. Grabbed a Mexican dinner from the St James Centre which was delicious. Probably didn’t need the additional chips and guacamole! Couldn’t help popping into the Lego shop there either.

I feel very lucky have been able to make it this long without being away. It’s been 848 days since Kara was born and this is the very first time I’ve missed a nap time of hers let along a full night. Jen said she was quite upset at times but also brilliant and just needed extra cuddles. Looking forward to getting a few of those when I’m back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.