Smoke break in Winona

A long day today. First, a lift to Ann Arbor bus depot, where I board the FlixBus to Chicago. It’s a couple of hour journey, but despite running down the side of Lake Michigan, I never actually get to see the water.

I have an hour or so in Chicago (extras) before my train leaves. I buy some supplies for the journey and then head for the waiting room, which is rammed (extra). There are all sorts waiting, and a surprising number of Amish folk.

The train leaves almost on time. The seats are extremely spacious and quite comfortable, which is just as well because some people will be on the train for several days. My journey is about 8 hours.

There’s plenty to see out of the window and the next carriage is an observation car with floor to ceiling windows. There’s also a cafe counter, which serves me a mac and cheese and a blue tamale - both hot and quite edible.

As the sun sets behind the river (extra), I bring up Google maps to find out where we are. The river, it turns out, is the Mississippi! Not just a southern river, it flows down from the mountains on the Canadian border where it emanates from the south of the Laurentian divide .

We stop for a “smoke break” at Winona (extra). Everyone gets off to stretch their legs for a few minutes and then we’re back on the train. A couple of hours later, I get off in Minneapolis and check into my hotel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.