Larch

I had wondered about a walk up the hill and into the woods, where I would undoubtedly find something tall to photograph in portrait mode for Wide Wednesday, but P had to collect the car from its service and MOT, and J's PA swapped days this week, so this afternoon I was at home with J, the hill being far too steep to push her up, and I only had time for a no fuss photo in the garden. 

I'm fond of the larch tree, despite its bare top and lopsided appearance. It has interesting foliage and lots of tiny cones, and birds like to sit on it. Its silhouette also punctuates some of my morning views and cloudscapes when I look across the valley. In the foreground are the brassica plants - calabrese and cavallo nero - from which I carefully picked caterillars a couple of days ago, and the resurgent rhubarb, which has put on a new spurt of growth after the recent rain. They are enclosed by the essential rabbit proof fence which surrounds the vegetable garden, and beyond them a very messy patch of long grass, weeds and chard run to seed which we did not manage to get back into cultivation this year. In the distance, beyond the meadow, is the home of our nearest neighbour on this side of the road. 

Yesterday's Tiny Tuesday photo, uploaded a little earlier today, was rather nicer than this if you have time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.