September sun

The morning was grey and overcast, and after hanging laundry outside, I wandered round the garden wondering where I could find a weather related abstract with no shadows, light on wet surfaces or misty distortions to play with. A little later, sun shining through things stored on the window ledge in the utility room provided a starting point, with a few more patches of light and shadow following. After a bit of hesitation, I've kept the "safe" photo as my main one; I was tempted by the extra, the light shining in, but was unsure about it. Thank you Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday.

Today M was here supporting J, so four bottles of elderberry, apple and blackberry cordial have joined the batch of jelly from earlier in the week, and I've stewed a big bowl of windfall apples. Later, I enjoyed picking some dessert apples in the orchard, using P's tree planting plan to choose a few different varieties. We sampled Greensleeves, which were small, sweet and nicely crisp but not especially flavoursome. I've picked a lot of the quinces too, as they were starting to fall and the badgers have been eating them. They are our best crop for several years, and will make a good batch of jelly. I also took my late morning coffee to the balcony with my book and soaked up the beautiful September sun; it was a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.