Living my dream

By Mima

Not a lamb again…

The lambs have been born, but I found other small animals to photograph today.

These three are Chaffinches I think. There was a pair of adults in close attendance when Bean and I found this nest during our early morning walk round the property.

It is amazing that they have survived almost to fledging given that their nest is about 20cm off the ground, albeit a way inside a branch and wood pile by the orchard. See the extra.

There are not only feral cats hereabouts but also stoats, rats and possums, all of which would happily snack on baby Chaffinches. Maybe their parents have superpowers?

It’s been a busy day, baking a rich fruit (Christmas) cake, planting out oodles of brassicas and catching up on watering. The seeds are ready for a big Equinox sowing session tomorrow.

I am hopelessly behind looking at journals at the moment. I hope to catch up in the next day or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.