Neustadt an der Weinstraße, Hauptfriedhof

Photo was taken on the main cemetary in Neustadt, where I attended the funeral of a committee member I had been working with for more than 30 years. She stepped back from the committee exactly a year ago and died, age 65, last week. I really did like her a lot and missed her presence in the meetings since she stepped back. The news of her death really shocked me. She had one year to "enjoy" retirement after they sold their hair salon. The ceremony was very moving and many people attended the funeral. The family had asked not to wear black because "Angelika loved colour" and I didn't. The flowers on her coffin and all floral arrangements were pink. They all were beautiful, but it felt so wrong to get the camera out and take photos. 

I had been waiting since Monday to get the okay for a business trip to attend the funeral, but got no answer. So I took a few hours of flextime, tired of asking. It's a matter of appreciation, isn't it?

After the ceremony I blipped the colourful watering cans instead the flowers. The first pink ones I've seen on a cemetary. They were an eyecatcher on this wonderful sunny afternoon on the cemetary.

18:45; 18°C
2°C in the morning - way too cold

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.