Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Saying Goodbye, Isle Of Wight

Friday, 16th September

It was time to leave the Island this afternoon - heading back to Southampton and then on to home. You can see Alfie the Campervan on deck, with the new solar panel on the roof. Don’t be critical of my wonky parking - I was the second to the last vehicle on the ferry and I was told to park like that! I had got held up in some slow traffic and I almost missed it!

Having left the campsite at noon, I had two hours before the ferry, so I stopped at the nearby Carisbrooke Priory. It’s now run as an ecumenical centre for prayer and healing. I’ve been there before and knew it was a good place for a cup of tea and a cake as well as a stroll through the gardens. See Extra photo.

I have a good friend who has been very unwell and in the hospital the last 10 days. I’ve been praying for her all week, but I went into the chapel specifically to pray. I was there when I got a phone call with the very sad news that she had passed away this morning. No one expected that outcome, even the doctors, so I felt a bit numb as I left the island and drove home. I was glad to be going home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.