Sebulon

By sebrose

Voyageurs

I drive to Megan’s camp - about 15 minutes away. There’s no signal here, so I can’t let her know that I’ve arrived, which means I wait in the appointed place until she arrives. Old school.

There has been some ruction on the camp. The counsellors are disappointed in the camp leader about the way she handled a recent racist incident. It sounds like bad juju, but we’re out out behind us.

We drive to the nearby visitor centre at Voyageurs National park. There is a short trail here, but the ranger directs us to another one that’s 40 minutes away. We head down there, picking up a cheap waterproof and some lunch snacks as we go.

It’s a damp walk through dense woods. There are plenty of biting things and I didn’t bring my Smidge. There are mushrooms (extra) and fallen trees and log bridges. Eventually we reach impassable storm damage and turn back.

Back at the motel, we have a short rest before dinner. We’re meeting Adam and Arianna for dinner at the Cantilever Hotel in Rainier. It’s a good meal, with good conversation and just one cocktail - because I’m driving.

Megan and the others go to Loony’s pub to meet up with other camp folk. I head back to my motel room and drink a beer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.